CSC News

February 07, 2011

Department Welcomes New Strategic Advisory Board Members

Dr. Mladen Vouk, head of the NC State Department of Computer Science, is pleased to announce the addition of two Computer Science Department alumni to the department’s Strategic Advisory Board (SAB):
    * Loren Harrell, CEO & Founder,
    * Heather Miller, Senior VP/Business Executive – Technology, Bank of America
The SAB is a cornerstone of the computer science department's strategic planning efforts. This dynamic group of industry executives and academic leaders provide input and guidance, which is critical to helping shape the department’s strategic focus.
The SAB meets each spring on campus and functions as a virtual working team throughout the year through conference calls and member involvement on subcommittees, executive panels, and other engagement opportunities.
Membership terms are for three years and may be renewed for a second term.
In addition to providing guidance and direction to the department chair and faculty, the SAB has taken an active role in addressing some of the department’s key challenges such as the launch of the Diversity in Computer Science Endowment, created to help improve the attraction and retention rates of females and minorities in the field of computer science. In addition to providing the funds necessary to establish the endowment, the SAB provides guidance each year on how the proceeds might best be put to use by the department.
The SAB is currently chaired by Eric Wagner, Sr. Director, NAS Solutions at EMC. Donald Thompson, Jr., CEO & President of I-Cubed, is the current vice-chairperson.
The SAB will hold its 2011 meeting in Raleigh on April 14th.
For a complete list of the department’s Strategic Advisory Board members, click here.


Return To News Homepage