CSC News

June 05, 2008

STARS Student Leadership Corps for 2008-2009 Announced!

We are very pleased to announce the acceptance of the following students as participants in the 2008-2009 Students and Technology in Academics, Research, and Service (STARS) initiative:

Bellanov Apilli, Sophomore
Marivic Bonto-Kane, Ph.D. Student
David Chung, Freshman
Dave Crist, Ph.D. Student
Jarred DeVaughn-Brown, Sophomore
Christa Hayes, Senior
Alex Kuhl, Ph.D. Student
S-Don Lam, Sophomore
Daniel Lauck, Sophomore
Kathryn McCarthy, Sophomore
Karl Nilsson, Sophomore
Jennifer Robison, Ph.D. Student
Jonathan Rowe, Ph.D. Student
Robinson Udechukwu, Junior

STARS is a multi-institutional alliance to broaden participation in computing. Initially funded by the National Science Foundation as well as support for corporate partners such as SAS, EMC, NetApp, and Tekelec, the goal of STARS is to increase both the diversity and number of talented computing professionals through a variety of efforts focused at students at the university level as well as the K-12 space.

These students will have the opportunity to travel to the STARS celebration this summer in Auburn, AL, where they will meet with other STARS students as they attend sessions on technical excellence, leadership skills, research experiences, professional development and civic engagement.

During the school year, the STARS students will work together on group projects aimed at broadening participation in computing. They also complete an individual research, service, internship or outreach project of their choice.

To learn more about the N.C. State STARS Student Leadership Corps, please visit


Return To News Homepage