CSC News

April 06, 2015

Singh, Young Receive NC State's Highest Faculty Honors

Congratulations to Drs. Munindar Singh and R. Michael Young, professors in the NC State Computer Science Department, on being named Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award recipients for 2014-2015.  Twelve exceptional faculty were nominated this year, and four winners were selected.  The other two winners were Dr. Rodolphe Barrangou – Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences, and Dr. Ralph Smith – Department of Mathematics.  This is one of the highest honors that a faculty member can receive at NC State.
Winners will be recognized at the 2015 Faculty Awards and Matthews Medal Ceremony to be held in April, and will receive a monetary award of $4,000.  The dinner will be hosted by the NC State Alumni Association.
During the last 40 years, the Alumni Association has developed its faculty awards program into one of the most prestigious in the country.  Each year, the Association honors faculty who excel in the classroom, laboratory and in the field.  Faculty are nominated by their colleges and selected by a committee.  For more information on the Alumni Association Faculty Awards, click here.
Dr. Munindar Singh studies computational abstractions, theories, and techniques centered on interaction among autonomous parties, a theme that continually gains importance as people and businesses interact in increasingly more subtle modes in increasingly richer contexts of work and play.  This theme has led Dr. Singh to a program of research in multiagent systems that crosses academic areas of service-oriented computing, software engineering, and cybersecurity.  His specific research contributions include models and methods for interagent communication and computational trust with applications in business processes, social computing, and healthcare, among others. Dr. Singh has supervised twenty PhD and twenty-seven MS students on these problems, with several more in progress. Dr. Singh is a Fellow of the IEEE and the editor-in-chief of the ACM Transactions on Internet Technology. For more information on Dr. Singh, click here.
Dr. R. Michael Young is the founder and executive director of the NC State Digital Games Research Initiative, directs the Liquid Narrative research group, and is a 2014 NC State Faculty Scholar.  Together with a large group of students and post-doctoral fellows, he works to develop computational models of interactive narrative with applications to computer games, educational and training systems and virtual environments.  To our knowledge, Young is the only professor in NC State history to win university-level Outstanding Faculty Awards in all three areas they are given:  Research, Extension and Outreach, and Teaching.  For more information on Dr. Young, click here.

Return To News Homepage