CSC News

January 29, 2013

Savage Named AMS Secretary

Dr. Carla D. Savage, professor of computer science in the NC State Computer Science Department, has been named Secretary of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), effective February 1, 2013.  In the years since the Society was formed in 1888, there have only been nine secretaries; Savage becomes the tenth.
The Office of the Secretary is the primary point of contact between the AMS and its 30,000 members.  The Secretary implements scientific policies of the Society, oversees the scientific program of AMS Conferences (9-10 per year), manages the AMS Committee Structure (over 120 committees), oversees 30 AMS Prizes and Awards and the AMS Fellows Program, coordinates the annual AMS Elections, and serves to maintain the institutional memory of the Society.
The Secretary also serves as an Officer of the Society and a member of the AMS Council.  As such, she participates in all governance activities and in formulating policy for the Society.  She also serves as Chair of the five-member Secretariat, which oversees the scientific program of the ten annual AMS Conferences.
Beginning February 1, the Office of the AMS Secretary will be housed in the Computer Science Department at NC State.  Savage will remain a faculty member in the Computer Science Department, but will participate as a member of 25-30 AMS committees.  Mr. Jesse Kenyon has joined the department as Program Manager for the Office of the Secretary of the AMS. 
Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the 30,000-member AMS fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and everyday life.
For more information about the AMS, click here.
For related story from the AMS, click here.
For more information about Dr. Savage, click here.

Return To News Homepage