CSC News

May 08, 2012

CSC Department Launches Student Ambassadors Program

The NC State Computer Science Department is pleased to announce the launch of the NC State University Department of Computer Science Student Ambassador Program.  Twenty-four undergraduates were selected this spring as the first class of Ambassadors.  They will begin their academic year of service with the Fall 2012 semester.
The Ambassadors are a select group of sophomores, juniors and seniors who will serve as an extension of the department in support of its external relations and outreach efforts.  They will be presented with a variety of representational and developmental opportunities throughout the year including open houses, campus tours, career fairs, speakers series, and special events and initiatives.  By the very nature of the role, Student Ambassadors will serve to promote NC State University, the College of Engineering, the Department of Computer Science and the computer science discipline.
The 2012-13 CSC Student Ambassadors are: 
Seniors - Joshua Blue, Nicole Collichio, Malcolm Cosh, Steven Elliott, Sankeerth Goli, KaMar Galloway, Ravelle Kelley, Kayla Melvin, Alan Sheridan, and Karen Stabile;
JuniorsDaniel Goslen, William Higgins, Lara Stocks, Kristina Topchieva, and Bethany Vohlers
SophomoresWoodrow Barlow, Richard Hopper, Crystal Martin, Bryce Pilcher, Jonathan Poston, Xavier Primus, Anya Raspopovic, Alexandria Vail, and Jamaal Whitfield.

“We are excited and honored to have these young men and women serve as the ‘face of the computer science department’ to our visitors and recruits throughout the year,” says Ken Tate, Director of Development and External Relations.  “They are a very talented and accomplished group, and they have set a very high bar for all the ambassadors who will follow in their footsteps.”
All Student Ambassadors are matriculated CSC undergraduate majors at the sophomore level or higher.  They may be nominated in the spring by faculty/staff or apply directly for consideration.  Ambassadors work in one-year terms, renewable until they graduate, at the discretion of the department leadership based on overall participation, performance and academic progress. 


Return To News Homepage