Navigation: CSC Department Menu

Photo of Tiffany Barnes

Dr. Tiffany Barnes

Associate Professor

2401 EB 3
Phone: 919-515-5764
Fax: 919-515-7896

tmbarnes AT
Campus Map



Tiffany Barnes is Associate Professor of Computer Science at NC State University. She received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in Computer Science and Mathematics, and the Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from N.C. State. A member of Phi Beta Kappa and the NC State Golden Chain Society, she has served as Chair (2008) and Program Chair (2009) of the Educational Data Mining conference, Chair of the STARS Celebration conference (2011), Program Track Chair for the Foundations of Digital Games conference (2009), the ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Science Education Board (2010-2013), the Board of Directors for the International Educational Data Mining Society (2011-2013), Associate Editor for the Journal of Educational Data Mining (2008-2010), and Guest Editor for the IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications Special Issue on Serious Games (2009). Dr. Barnes received an NSF CAREER Award for her novel work in using data and educational data mining to add intelligence to STEM learning environments. Dr. Barnes is co-PI and current Executive Vice President for the STARS Alliance, a consortium of universities that engage college students in outreach, research, and service to broaden participation in computing.  Her research focuses on educational data mining, serious games for education, health, and energy, and broadening participation in computing education and research.


Research Areas

  • Artificial Intelligence and Intelligent Agents
  • Advanced Learning Technologies
  • Graphics and Human Computer Interaction
  • Computer and Video Games


PhD 2003 North Carolina State University Computer Science
  • The q-matrix method of fault-tolerant teaching in knowledge assessment and data mining
  • Advisors: Donald Bitzer and Mladen Vouk
MS 2000 North Carolina State University Computer Science & Mathematics
BS-honors 1995 North Carolina State University Computer Science & Mathematics


  • National Science Foundation Faculty Early CAREER Award - 2009