CSC News

January 20, 2022

Singh Named 2021 ACM Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. Munindar Singh, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Computer Science in the NC State Computer Science Department, on being named a 2021 Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) for his contributions to artificial intelligence and multiagent systems and their applications in service-oriented computing and sociotechnical systems.  He is the third ACM Fellow in the Computer Science Department at NC State, joining Drs. Laurie Williams (2020) and Frank Mueller (2018).


The ACM has named 71 members ACM Fellows for wide-ranging and fundamental contributions in areas including algorithms, computer science education, cryptography, data security and privacy, medical informatics, and mobile and networked systems ? among many other areas. The program recognizes the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. 


The contributions of the 2021 Fellows run the gamut of the computing field?including cloud database systems, deep learning acceleration, high performance computing, robotics, and theoretical computer science ? to name a few.


In keeping with ACM’s global reach, the 2021 Fellows represent universities, corporations, and research centers in Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Israel, Italy, and the United States.


Singh is a co-director of the Department of Defense-sponsored Science of Security Lablet at NC State, one of six nationwide. His research interests include computational aspects of sociotechnical systems, especially as a basis for addressing challenges such as ethics, safety, resilience, trust, and privacy in connection with AI and multiagent systems.


In addition to being named an ACM Fellow, Singh has received many awards and recognitions including being named a Fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). In 2021 he was elected a foreign member of Academia Europaea (honoris causa), the first at NC State. He has won the ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award, the IEEE TCSVC Research Innovation Award, and the International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and MultiAgent Systems (IFAAMAS) Influential Paper Award. He won NC State’s Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award as well as the Outstanding Research Achievement Award (twice). He was selected as an Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor and elected to NC State’s Research Leadership Academy.


Singh was the editor-in-chief of the ACM Transactions on Internet Technology from 2012 to 2018 and the editor-in-chief of IEEE Internet Computing from 1999 to 2002. His current editorial service includes IEEE Internet Computing, Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research, Journal of Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems, IEEE Transactions on Services Computing, and ACM Transactions on Intelligent Systems and Technology. He served on the founding board of directors of IFAAMAS, the International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and MultiAgent Systems. He previously served on the editorial board of the Journal of Web Semantics. He also served on the founding steering committee for the IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing.   Additionally, he was a general co-chair for the 2005 International Conference on Autonomous Agents and MultiAgent Systems and the 2016 International Conference on Service-Oriented Computing.


Singh joined the NC State faculty in 1995.  He earned his B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (1986)  from the Indian Institute of Technology in New Delhi, India, and his M.S.C.S. in Computer Science (1988), and his Ph.D. in Computer Science (1993) from the University of Texas, Austin.


Additional information about the 2020 ACM Fellows, as well as previously named ACM Fellows, is available through the ACM Fellows site.


Editor’s note:  Dr. Tao Xie, former NC State Computer Science faculty member who is now Chair Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Technology at Peking University, was also named a 2021 ACM Fellow for his contributions to software testing and analytics.



Return To News Homepage