CSC News

December 07, 2021

Fall 2021 Carla Savage Award Winner Announced

Congratulations to Dr. Munindar Singh, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor, on being named the winner of “The Carla Savage Award” in the full professor category.


Singh is the recipient of many awards and accolades.  He was recently elected a Foreign Member of Academia Europaea, the Pan-European Academy of Sciences, Humanities and Letters.  Just prior to that, he received the 2020 NC State Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award in the area of Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering.  He is also a part of the newly established Academy of Outstanding Faculty Members at NC State.


Singh is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), a Fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), and a Fellow if the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).  He has won NC State’s Outstanding Research Achievement Award, and is a member of NC State’s Research Leadership Academy.  He has graduated 27 PhD students.


Per his nomination, “"Dr. Singh is an amazing professor and his course is great fun. He is an excellent researcher and collaborator and is very active in research. He is supportive and encourages independent thinking for student projects and cares not only about academic research progress, but also his advisee's career development. He always tries to find new opportunities for his students."


A new intra-departmental initiative, The Carla Savage Awards were created by representatives in the Computer Science Department to recognize outstanding achievement and special people within the department, in the spirit of the incomparable department icon Dr. Carla Savage.


Each month nominations for The Carla Savage Awards will focus on one of the following groups:  PhD Students, Administrative Staff, Research Professors, Teaching Professors, Assistant Professors, Associate Professors, and Professors.  The Savage Awards committee is made up of representatives from the faculty, staff and graduate students.  The names of nominators for the awards are kept private, but the nomination text will be public so voters can access this information when voting.  Voting is open to everyone in the NC State Computer Science Department.  Two awards will be given each month, with a maximum of 14 winners (one person cannot win more than once every six months).  No awards will be given in January, June, July, August or December. 


For a complete list of winners, please click here.



Return To News Homepage